Conspiracy: 11 former MPS convicted and await sentence

11 former MPs were convicted after found guilty of conspiracy to defeat the course of justice by Justice Richard Chetwynd yesterday evening.

Their sentence will be handed down on 29th of  August.

The 11 former MPs are currently serving 3 years in jail for bribery of official.

The penalty of conspiracy under Vanuatu law is seven years. Justice Chetwynd said that in some country, the penalty of conspiracy is life sentence but in Vanuatu only seven years.

He said that there are indisputable evidences that MPs started to conspire at Mangoes, ministry of public utilities and parliament and the main purpose was to avoid their sentence for bribery of official.

Justice Chetwynd said that non of them told the court during trial that he refused pardoning done by the then acting president of republic, Marcelino Pepite. Pepite was speaker of parliament at that time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s